Look more
Лого ООО Август-Кий

Couscous

Available in 400 g packs: 2×175 g couscous + 1×50 g pink Himalayan salt

These are fine bright yellow grits which are most often made of wheat. Couscous came to us from Africa where it has been the basic food for centuries. It is no less popular in the Mediterranean countries as well.

This cereal is not a variety or even a way of wheat processing. The peculiar thing is that it is a radically different way to store cereals.

Wheat is ground to semolina, from which the grains of the desired size are formed using flour, water, and the specialized drying technique. Formerly, in African countries, this process was carried out manually, and it was the very couscous considered to be the most valuable food. Now, because various techniques are utilized, this cereal became more accessible and affordable all over the world.

Due to this cereal processing method – couscous takes a minimum of your time for cooking. However, the side dish, made of it, is very nourishing and rich in vitamins and minerals.

ТThe cereal is traditionally steamed, using dedicated two-level clay utensils, and we can use a steam cooker instead. Vegetables, meat, and spices are placed on the first lever, and couscous is poured onto the second level. However, you can try a more conventional way: pour the cereal over with water in the ration of 1 to 2 (1 glass of cereal for 2 glasses of water), bring the water to a boil and turn it off. In 15 minutes, the porridge will be ready. You do not have to boil couscous.

Having a neutral flavor, the cereal combines well with various dishes, absorbing the aroma of spices and other ingredients with which it is cooked. The August TM pack includes 2 bags of couscous and 1 bag of the Himalayan salt which has a pronounced original salty-sweet taste and aroma – a perfect combination to use while cooking oriental main and side dishes.

Далее
Лого ООО Август-Кий

Кус-кус

Выпускается в фасовке 400 гр

Мелкая крупа ярко-желтого цвета, которую чаще всего готовят из пшеницы. Кус-кус пришел к нам из Африки, где много веков является основой для питания. Не менее популярен он и в Средиземноморских странах.

Особенность этой крупы в том, что это не сорт и даже не способ обработки пшеницы. Это кардинально другой способ заготовки крупы.

Пшеницу перемалывают до манки, из которой с помощью муки, воды и особенного высушивания формируют крупинки нужного размера. Раньше в африканских странах этот процесс происходил вручную, и именно такой кус-кус считался наиболее ценным. Сейчас используют различные технологии, которые позволяют сделать эту крупу более доступной, в том числе и у нас.

Благодаря такому способу обработки крупы – кус-кус занимает минимум времени для приготовления. При этом получается очень сытный и богатый витаминами и минералами гарнир.

Традиционно его готовят на пару, используя специальные двухъярусные глиняные приспособления, а у нас их может  заменить пароварка. На первый ярус кладут овощи, мясо и специи, а на второй – засыпают крупу кус-кус. Но можно готовить и более традиционным способом: залить водой 1 к 2 (1 стакан крупы на 2 стакана воды), довести до кипения и выключить. Через 15 минут каша будет готова. Варить кус-кус не нужно.

Обладая нейтральным вкусом, крупа хорошо сочетается с различными блюдами, при этом вбирая в себя аромат специй и других ингредиентов, с которыми готовится. В упаковку кус-куса от ТМ «Август»  входит гималайская соль, которая обладает ярко-выраженным оригинальным солено-сладким вкусом и ароматом – идеальное сочетание для приготовления восточных блюд и гарниров.